Our history

For almost 100 years our Organisation has supported young people resident in some of the most disadvantaged communities throughout Wales.  The Organisation's roots are traced back to the coalfields of the South Wales mining valleys.

1936

Between 1936-1937 after a process of decentralisation, it was decided to stablish a group system where leaders of twelve club areas in the region of South Wales were named as pivotal clubs, each one was responsible for a large club and satellite clubs within its influential area.

1940

During the war, the labour of these clubs kept running, although some buildings became unsuitable and some club leaders passed away due to their contribution to the war.

1947

In May, after some meeting with the National Association of Boys’ Clubs, The South Wales Federation extended its area to cover the whole Principality and became The Welsh Association of Boys’ Clubs. The total number of affiliated clubs by the end of the year is up to 107, most of them located in the mining areas.

 

1958

The Abercrave Adventure Centre, a second Boys’ Camp, opens.

St.AthensBoysCamp_edited.jpg

St Athans Club

If you want to discover more about the history of the clubs for young people movement in Wales don’t hesitate to visit the guide: "Timeline 28-08 A history of the Boy’s Club Movement in Wales", created by Youth work Wales in 2017.